Mahou Tofu

The following is an excerpt from a research paper I did almost three years ago for a film writing class, in which I discuss the influence that war memory has had on Japanese pop/subculture, particularly the works of Hayao Miyazaki. Following his recent retirement announcement, I thought it’d be appropriate to dig up this old thing and put it out for people to read.

However, this first part is more or less just an introduction of the topic. The intended audience for this paper was people who have no idea what anime or anything like it is. Still, I think you all can find things in here that you may not have thought of before! I plan to publish the entire paper in a series, so you can expect specific analyses in the future! And maybe I’ll add on some new material at the end about specific anime series or…

View original post 789 more words

